Elections in Greece mark a new era On the 7th of July 2019 elections were held in Greece that resulted in a sweeping victory of the right wing party New Democracy, with Kyriakos Mitsotakis becoming PM.


The results were the following:

New Democracy: 39.85%  (158 seats)                                                                          Syriza: 31.53%  (86 seats)                                                                                             Coalition KINAL: 8.10%  (22 seats)                                                                              KKE(Communist Party): 5.30%  (15 seats)                                                                  Greek Solution: 3.70%  (10 seats)                                                                                 Mera25: 3.44%  (9 seats)

Turnout: 57.91%

With these results New Democracy can form on its own government, the first of its kind in the last decade, after the economic recession that has plagued Greece.

The previous government was a coalition between the left wing party Syriza and the far right party Independent Greeks which evaporated into nothingness after the Euro elections of 2019.

The new cabinet ministers that New Democracy appointed are the following:

Prime Minister
Kyriakos Mitsotakis

Deputy Prime Minister
Panagiotis Pikrammenos

State Minister
George Gerapetritis

Minister to the Prime Minister
Akis Skertsos

Government Spokesman
Stelios Petsas

Ministry of Finance
Minister: Christos Staikouras
Deputy: Apostolos Vesyropoulos
Deputy: Theodoros Skylakakis
Deputy: George Zavvos

Ministry of Development and Investments
Minister: Adonis Georgiadis
Deputy: Yiannis Tsakiris
Deputy: Christos Dimas
Deputy: Nikos Papathanassis

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Minister: Nikos Dendias
Alternate: Miltiadis Varvitsiotis
Deputy: Costas Frangoyiannis
Deputy: Antonis Diamataris

Ministry of Citizens’ Protection
Minister: Michalis Chrysochoidis
Alternate: Giorgos Koumoutsakos
Deputy: Lefteris Economou

Ministry of National Defense
Minister: Nikos Panagiotopoulos
Deputy: Alkiviadis Stefanis

Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs
Minister: Niki Kerameus
Deputy: Sofia Zacharaki
Deputy: Vassilis Digalakis

Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs
Minister: Yiannis Vroutsis
Deputy: Panagiotis Mitarakis
Deputy: Domna Michailidou

Ministry of Health
Minister: Vassilis Kikilias
Deputy: Vassilis Kontozamanis

Ministry of Environment and Energy
Minister: Costis Hatzidakis
Deputy: Gerasimos Thomas
Deputy: Dimitris Economou

Ministry of Culture and Sports
Minister: Lina Mendoni
Deputy: Lefteris Avgenakis

Ministry of Justice
Minister: Costas Tsiaras
Deputy: Dimitris Kranis

Ministry of Interior
Minister: Panagiotis Theodorikakos
Deputy: Theodoros Livanios
Deputy: Theodoros Karaoglou

Ministry of Digital Governance
Minister: Kyriakos Pierrakakis
Deputy: Georgios Georgantas
Deputy: Grigoris Zarifopoulos

Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport
Minister: Kostas A. Karamanlis
Deputy: Yiannis Kefaloyiannis

Ministry of Shipping and Island Policy
Minister: Yiannis Plakiotakis

Μinistry of Agricultural Development and Food
Minister: Makis Voridis
Deputy: Costas Skrekas
Deputy: Fotini Arabatzi

Ministry of Tourism
Minister: Haris Theocharis
Deputy: Manos Konsolas


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here